The Walkway

What was your purpose in doing what you did?

CYMERA_20150216_185545Purpose. Reason. Intention. End Goal.

It was almost the end of the second semester. I was in my second year of college that time. The finals week was fast approaching. I tried to study so hard but I just wasn’t able to do so. It was so difficult to focus on my exams while wondering if I can still enroll for the next semester. Read, drink coffee and CRY was all that I can do.

You see, I was not born with a silver spoon on my mouth. My family was not rich. My mom is a single mother of 2 and she’s the only one left to raise my sister and I. I remember, when I was still a kid, before my grandmother took us in, my mom would wake up very early in the morning to bake and cook some food so she could sell them to my Aunt’s office mates.

Growing up, I saw how hard my mom worked. I saw her sacrifices and I felt her pain. I wanted to do something but I was helpless. I was just a kid who hasn’t even reached High School yet. What can I do? I knew that finishing school was a long way to go but I made it my ultimate goal. I wanted to graduate. I wanted to be able to land a job and earn a good salary so that I would no longer hear my mom crying at night, praying for a miracle because she didn’t know where she could get money to feed my sister and I. So I worked hard.

I graduated from Primary School as an Academic Achiever, that was how the honor students were called in our school. I went to High School and I graduated with honors again. I was so eager to go to college because going to college meant that I only had 4 years left before I can finally reach my goal of finishing school. My mom worked so hard to be able to send me to the best school. The tuition fee was definitely more than what she was earning from our small business but that did not stop her.

My first 1 year and a half in college went well. It was difficult but I was able to manage it. I was so happy that it was only 2 years and a couple of months more before reaching my goal when my mom told me that she couldn’t afford to send me to school anymore. I knew that it broke her heart more than it broke mine but  I simply didn’t take it. I had a purpose and I needed it done. I didn’t want to stop studying. So I cried oceans of tears. I was devastated. And like my mom, I prayed for a miracle.

And a miracle happened.

I joined a performing arts group where I met the angels sent by God to help me. They knew what I was going through and they helped me. They gave me the amount needed for the enrollment. I was so happy that I will be able to enroll but at the same time very worried because I didn’t know where to get the rest of the money to pay for my tuition fee in full.

The first month of the first semester ended. I was becoming more worried because I knew that on the second month, Mid Terms were coming and I needed to pay a big amount so that I could take the exams. The only thing I could think of is to get a scholarship. Everyday, I walk around campus to read ALL the bulletin boards for announcements of any scholarship grants. I was determined. Every single day of not seeing or hearing of any scholarships did not discourage me but instead, encouraged me to look harder.

Mid terms came and I still didn’t have any scholarships. My mom went to school to talk to the finance department head and gave a promissory note. Luckily, the finance department head approved of the note and I was able to take my exams. So I continued looking.

And then one day, I was walking in the hallway of our campus, about to leave when something caught my attention. I didn’t get to check the bulletin boards that day because I studied for an exam for a major subject. I approached the bulletin board and VOILA! A company posted that they were opening 2 slots for a scholarship grant because 2 of their existing scholars were not able to hit the required grade. TWO SLOTS! I was ecstatic! I literally cried while reading the poster on that bulletin board. People would have thought that I had a fight with a boyfriend I didn’t have if they saw how hard I was crying.

And the rest is history. 

I was, am and will forever be thankful for the blessing that I received. And to show my gratitude, I made sure that I wouldn’t just simply graduate. I wanted to graduate with flying colors. AND SO I DID! There was not a semester in college that my name didn’t show up on the Dean’s list. And to top it all off, I graduated as Cum Laude.

So for the people who served as the walkway as I made my way to the peaceful shore from a sea of difficulties, THANK YOU! Because of all the help you gave me, I was able to work harder to make my dreams to come true.

You have all given life to my “purpose”.

This is in response to the prompt Purpose.

14 thoughts on “The Walkway

Leave a Reply

